Cyclone Bulbul: Schools In Nine Odisha Districts To Remain Closed On Nov 9

07 November 2019


Bhubaneswar: The State administration has declared holiday for all schools and Anganwadi centres of nine districts in Odisha on November 9 as a precautionary measure in view of heavy rains due to Cyclone Bulbul.

After a high-level preparatory meeting on the cyclone held on Thursday, Special Relief Commissioner (SRC) Pradeep Jena informed that all schools of Balasore, Bhadrak, Cuttack, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Puri, Khurda, Mayurbhanj & Jajpur districts to remain closed on November 9.

Two ODRAF teams each have been deployed in the said districts. Besides, one NDRF team each have been despatched to six districts and fire services personnel have been kept on standby.

The districts have been requested to closely watch the situation and keep the administrative machinery alert to face any eventuality. Collectors have been asked to check all the cyclone/flood shelters as well as communication systems and ensure that these shelters are in proper condition for use if necessary.