COVID-19 In Odisha: 'Lockdown' In Nine More Districts, Railways & Bus Transport 'Blocked'

23 March 2020


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Government today announced extension of Lockdown to 9 more districts to contain the spread of COVID-19 infection.

These districts are: Puri, Nayagarh, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Bhadrak, Balasore, Dhenkanal, Sambalpur, Jharsuguda. Apart from this, Rourkela Steel Township will be under Lockdown.

The Lockdown in these nine districts will be effective from Tuesday (March 24) morning. The total number of districts now under lockdown in Odisha is 14.

In another major decision, the State Government has announced that railways and bus transport will be completely blocked in Odisha.

"Railway station and bus stands are removed form the exempted category for internal transport and eateries located in them. Now railways and bus transport is completely blocked in the entire state," a notification issued by the State Government read.

From today (Monday) midnight City bus service will stop. From 11 am on March 24, all passenger buses will be stopped in entire Odisha," Chief Spokesperson of Odisha Government on COVID-19 Management, Subroto Bagchi informed.

Subroto Bagchi, COVID-19 Spokesperson, Odisha Government