Coronavirus death toll in China rises to 80
NBA Legend Kobe Bryant, Daughter & 7 Others Killed In Helicopter Crash

BJP's Defeat In Jharkhand, A Mandate Against Its Sectarian Politics, Say Odisha Politicians

24 December 2019

Debashish Maharana

Bhubaneswar: Jharkhand Assembly election result is a mandate against the BJP's politics and policies of discrimination, opine BJD and Congress leaders in Odisha.

"Election result in Jharkhand is a mandate against the sectarian decisions of the BJP. There is a need to carry along all sections of the society," commented Amar Prasad Satpathy, BJD MLA from Barchana and former Minister talking to newsmen on his reactions on the poll results in Jharkhand.

"In the event of Centre becoming very powerful, there can be no development in the States," he warned.

"The mandate in Jharkhand has been welcomed by the people across the country. I too welcome it. People in Jharkhand have rejected the BJP for their ego and their deeds. People are dissatisfied with the BJP. We want that BJP is defeated everywhere," remarked another BJD MLA and former Minister Nrusingha Chandra Sahoo.

"BJP only tall talks and does nothing. Look at the unemployment situation, the rising prices of commodities, people facing problems due to GST, demonetization are not small things to be ignored with," pointed out Sahoo, who has been elected from Parjang.

The Congress said that the people have decided for "Modi Mukt Bharat".

"Modi was saying 'Congress Mukt Bharat' now people have decided for 'Modi Mukt Bharat'. People have rejected him for his attacks on the basis of caste, religion etc," said Tara Prasad Bahinipati, Congress MLA from Jeypore.

Union Minister of State (MoS) for MSME and senior BJP leader Pratap Chandra Sarangi said," There are ups and downs. It's like the day and the night. Both exist. Is it (BJP) going to change its principles? Certainly not. It stood by its principles when it had won only two seats." 

Amar Prasad Satpathy, BJD MLA

Nrusingha Chandra Sahoo, BJD MLA

Tara Prasad Bahinipati, Congress MLA

Pratap Chandra Sarangi, Union Minister