BJP Announces Sanat Gadtia As Bijepur By Poll Candidate

29 September 2019


Bhubaneswar: The prime opposition party in the State- the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) announced Sanat Gadtia as its Bijepur by-poll candidate on Sunday. BJP’s Central Election Committee made the announcement along with 18 other candidates for eight other states.

During Lok Sabha elections in May 2019, BJP had trusted Gadtia with Bijepur to contest against BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik who was looking for a fifth successive term. Patnaik with 110604 votes had then beat Gadtia, with 53482 had won with 59.78 per cent.

Apart from his home turf Hinjili, Patnaik had also contested from Bijepur in Western Odisha. After taking oath as the Chief Minister of the State for a record fifth term he had given the Bijepur seat.

While Congress had named Dilip Panda as its Bijepur candidate, ruling BJD had placed its trust on Rita Sahu. All three candidates are supposed to file their nominations tomorrow; i.e. September 30.