CM Urges Nizamuddin Returnees To Self-Register, Vows Complete Support

BJD Will Win Bijepur By 35K Margin: Pramila

11 October 2019

Debashish Maharana

Bhubaneswar: Senior Biju Janata Dal (BJD) leader and Government Chief Whip Pramila Mallick today claimed that the BJD will win the Bijepur bye-election by a margin of over 35,000 votes. 

"Biju Janata Dal will be victorious. Rita Sahu will win the election by a margin of 35,000 votes," asserted a confident Mallick talking to newsmen here today.

"People have already decided to vote for the BJD. The picture is clear-the BJD is going to win by a huge margin. Chief Minister is likely to visit the area soon to garner more votes for our party," Mallick revealed.

Mallick informed that the BJD has already kicked off its campaign in Bijepur and her party workers are doing a door to door campaign.

"In every constituency women voters have voted in favour of BJD in large numbers and so will they in Bijepur," the senior BJD leader pointed out.

Bijepur will be going to the polls on October 21 with five candidates in fray for the assembly seat which was won and vacated by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

Patnaik who had contested from two seats-Hinjili and Bijepur in the May 2019 elections had won from both the seats. He, however, retained his traditional seat Hinjili and vacated Bijepur necessitating a by-poll.

Bijepur will be witnessing a third electoral battle in less than two years since 2018.

After the sudden demise of former Congress MLA Subal Sahu following an illness, the ruling BJD by fielding his widow Rita Sahu won the Bijepur by-poll with a respectable number of votes.

Rita garnered 1, 02,871 votes in 2018 and had defeated her nearest rival Ashok Panigrahi of BJP by 41,933 votes.

In the 2019 elections, Naveen Patnaik had won the seat by a margin of 57,122 votes defeating his nearest rival Sanat Kumar Gartia who had secured only 53,482 votes.

The counting of votes will take place on October 24.

Pramila Mallick, Chief Whip, BJD