Candidates File Nominations For Bijepur By-Poll

30 September 2019


Bijepur: The candidates of the three major political parties Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and Congress filed their nomination papers for the by-poll to Odisha's Bijepur Assembly seat.

BJD candidate Rita Sahu, BJP candidate Sanat Gadtia and Dillip Panda of Congress submitted their nomination papers before the Returning Officer at the Sub-collector office in Padampur.

Monday was the last date for the filing of nominations.

The candidates exuded confidence to put up a good show in the by-poll.

"The people of Bijepur have deep faith in Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and me. With the blessings of the voters, I will definitely win the election," said Rita Sahu.

Rita Sahu, wife of late Congress MLA Subal Sahu, was elected as Bijepur MLA on BJD ticket in February last year following the death of her husband in August 2017.

Congress candidate Dillip Panda said people have started imposing faith in the party as they are fed up with the misrule of the BJP and BJD.

The by-poll in Bijepur assembly segment of Bargarh was necessitated after BJD president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik resigned from the seat. He had contested and won from two seats (Hinjili and Bijepur) in the last assembly elections. He retained the Hinjili seat of Ganjam district and resigned from Bijepur Assembly segment.

The by-poll to Bijepur Assembly constituency will be held on October 21. The counting of votes will be held on October 24.

(With inputs from IANS)

Rita Sahu, BJD Candidate