Dreaded criminal injured during encounter in Kendrapara
Harvested paddy from 3 acres of land gutted as fire breaks out
One arrested by Excise Department for smuggling 23 gram brown sugar
Man allegedly attacks wife with a knife following a family feud
Demon king Kansa reaches Puri to take a holy dip in sea
Senior leader Pranay Sahu joins BJD
Elephant herd goes amok in Baripada

BJD’s “Krushak Adhikar Samabesh”: Delhi Talkatora Stadium Resounds With Protest Against Centre

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

08 January 2019


New Delhi: As planned earlier, Odisha’s ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) leaders congregated today at Talkatora Stadium here to stage a ‘dharna’ (sit-in protest) against the BJP-led Central Government demanding hike in minimum support price (MSP) for the farmers.

All the Ministers, MLAs, MPs and other leaders of the regional party’s frontal wings, Zilla Parishad members as well as representatives of the farmers and others from the grassroots level of 30 districts of Odisha participated in it.

All the leaders in their speeches spit venom against the Centre’s lackadaisical attitude towards Odisha and its farmers.

Although a unanimous resolution has been passed by the Odisha Assembly last year demanding hike in MSP to Rs 2,930 for the farmers of Odisha, the Prime Minister allegedly did not allow even five minutes of patient audience to the Assembly delegation led by Speaker, the BJD leaders burst.

Notably, Odisha Assembly on 25.03.2017 (March 25, 2017) has passed a unanimous resolution demanding Rs 2,930 MSP to each farmer of Odisha for paddy per quintal so that social and financial security of the farmers in the State here could get ensured.

They also stated that Prime Minister Narendra Modi as well as BJP in its manifesto during the 2014 general elections had promised to implement Swaminathan Commission Recommendations, but allegedly failed.

As per today’s programme, BJD submitted a memorandum to President Ram Nath Kovind demanding hike in MSP to Rs 2,930 for the farmers of Odisha. This was confirmed by BJD president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in his media reactions.