RBI Deputy Governor Viral Acharya has resigned six months before his term
Loot attempt in a bank foiled after security siren of strong room triggers
two killed, one injured after the wall of a house collapsed in Jajpur
Man allegedly stabs 5-year-old son to death with a knife in Rourkela
Dasarathi Satpathy takes charge as Secretary of Odisha Legislative Assembly
Police arrest BJD's Patnagarh MLA Saroj Meher
Undertrial prisoner allegedly murdered at Choudwar jail

BJD Moves Assembly Speaker To Disqualify Membership Of Five MLAs Who Have Quit Party

23 March 2019

Mohammed Ishtiyaque

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Saturday approached the Speaker of Odisha Assembly to disqualify membership of five legislators who have voluntarily resigned from the party recently.

Amar Prasad Satpathy as ruling party's chief whip has submitted a petition to Odisha Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat to disqualify membership of Basanti Mallick, Trinath Gomango, Debraj Mohanty, Purna Chandra Nayak and Sukanta Nayak.

They had been elected to the house as candidates of the BJD and now as they have resigned from the party voluntarily, their membership should be disqualified, said Satpathy.

After receiving the petition, Amat said he will examine the documents and taken further step accordingly.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Pradip Kumar Amat, Speaker, Odisha Assembly

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Amar Prasad Satpathy, BJD Chief Whip