Dreaded criminal Ganesh Mallick injured during encounter in Kendrapada
CPI (Maoist) put up posters near Budaguda chhak in Baliguda
Firefighters fish out bodies of 2 children from a pond at Matikana village
Woman & her two kids charred to death after fire breaks out in their house
Minor girl allegedly impregnated by a youth in Nabarangpur district

BJD Emerges Victorious In Mayurbhanj ZP By-Poll

07 December 2018


Bhubaneswar: With all parties in the State eyeing victory in the upcoming general elections in 2019, the BJD has already proved its mettle in the by-election to Zilla Parishad Zone-32 of the Bijatala block in Mayurbhanj district, held yesterday.

BJD candidate Raghunath Majhi emerged victorious in the by-election after defeating his close opponent BJP candidate by 4212 votes. The polling had been held at 82 booths in five panchayats - Bijatala, Mundathakura, Banakati, Raihari and Luhasila - on Thursday to decide the fate of 10 poll candidates in these panchayats.

The seat in the previous election had been won by BJP and prior to it by JMM. In 2017 panchayat polls, BJP had won the Zilla Parishad Zone-32 with JMM and BJD coming second and third respectively. The by-poll was necessitated after death of BJP's winning candidate Chhotray Marandi.

BJD's recent victory has put a question on the future of other parties in State. It is worthwhile to mention that, BJD candidates have won the Sarpanch by-election held at one panchayat each in Pallahada, Mahanga, Polsara, Rayagada, Bhapur, Borigumma, Nandapur and Bonaigarh blocks.

Likewise, BJD candidates have defeated their opponents with huge margin in the Samiti Member by-election held at one panchayat each of Remuda, Hinjilikatu, Badchana, Khajuripada, Umerkote and Lathikata and at two panchayats of Muniguda.