Bijepur By-Poll: CEO Announces Final Tally Of Votes

24 October 2019

Debashish Maharana

Bhubaneswar: Giving details of the votes polled by different candidates after the end of counting of votes of the by-poll held for Bijepur Assembly Constituency Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sushil Kumar Lohani addressing a press conference here today informed that Rita Sahu of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has polled 1,35,957 votes.

Lohani said that while Sanat Kumar Gartia of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has polled 37,967 votes, Dilip Kumar Panda of Indian National Congress (INC) has polled 5,873 votes. 

He added that Ashok Kumar Mittal of Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha has polled 1,219 votes, while independent candidate Brindaban Purohit has polled 1,053 votes and 1,982 votes have been cast in favour of NOTA (None of the Above) option.

While announcing that the aforementioned figures were the final tally after counting of votes, the CEO however, maintained that the statutory provision of tallying of five VVPAT results on a random basis with that of actual counting was underway.

Sushil Kumar Lohani, CEO, Odisha