Cuttack Set For Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship From Tomorrow

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

16 July 2019

Bikash Sharma

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Cuttack: Stage is set for the 21st Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships to be held at Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium, Cuttack from 17th – 22nd July, 2019. The event will witness the best players from Australia, Bangladesh, Cyprus, England, India, Malaysia, Nigeria, Scotland, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Uganda and Wales competing for coveted titles.

Rabi Parida, Secretary of Indoor Stadium said, "12 teams have confirmed their presence and several contingents have reached the City as well. Preparation is on in full swing. Honorable Governor will inaugurate the event tomorrow and we have kept the event free for school and college students."

As per reports, 10 platoons of police force will be deployed in two shifts around the stadium and two Additional DCPs will supervise the security arrangements. Steps have been taken for smooth traffic flow in silver city along with parking arrangements at Christian Padia and upper Balijatra Ground.

"Control rooms have been set up in Sikharpur and Balikuda roads. Patrolling will also be done in ring road and National Highway to ensure complete safety," said Cuttack DCP Akhilesvar Singh.

The stadium will be segregated into 30 zones with entry through eight gates. Separate entry points will be made for players and VIPs, stated reports.

Charlotte Kerry of Wales team, who was practicing in the Hall said, “Everything looks good. But, the temperature is very warm. We are not used to this weather. However, this will not hamper our performance as we will adapt to it in 1-2 days. The accommodation is very nice and people are helpful. We are aiming for a few medals." Another Josh Morgan said that he is expecting tough competition from India.

The Indian squad:

Men: A. Sharath Kamal, G. Sathiyan, A. Amalraj, Manav Thakkar and Harmeet Desai.

Women: Manika Batra, Madhurika Patkar, Sutirtha Mukherjee, Archana Kamath, Ayhika Mukherjee.

Sl. No





Inaugural Ceremony




Men’s Team Championship

Home Association’s Cup

17.7.2019 to 22.7.2019


Women’s Team Championship

India Cup


Men’s Singles

Singapore Cup


Women’s Singles

Oceania Cup


Men’s Doubles

Hong Kong Cup


Women’s Doubles

Canada Cup


Mixed Doubles

Guernsey Cup


Closing & Award Ceremony




Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Akhilesvar Singh, DCP, Cuttack

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship Official

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Rabi Parida, Secretary, Indoor Stadium

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Charlotte Kerry, Wales team

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Josh Morgan, Wales Team