Vigilance sleuths conduct raid on the residence of Assistant Engineer
One person dies after being hit by an unknown vehicle in Sambalpur
68 grams of Brown sugar worth Rs 6.8 lakh seized in Balasore
RTI activist shot dead by two bike-borne miscreants in Baliguda
Citizenship Amendment Bill 2019 to be tabled in Rajya Sabha tomorrow
30th Odisha State Film Awards Announced
45 fast track courts opens soon
Class 9 boy student sets himself on fire in Baripada

71st State Police Athletic Championship: Odisha DGP Asserts Support For Best Players

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

19 January 2019

Bikash Sharma

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Cuttack: DGP RP Sharma today graced the valedictory function of 71st State Police Athletic Championship in Cuttack as the Chief Guest and handed over prizes to winners of various categories.

Addressing mediapersons after the event, Sharma said, "Odisha Police has been regularly encouraging sports. Teams from Odisha have been giving best performances in various sporting events at National Level. We are trying to provide them proper coaching and send the winning candidates to national championships where they will through their performance earn accolades for Odisha Police and State."

Today, the DGP felicitated various winners of the championship including Havildar Jograj Thapa and Commando Bimal Thapa of SOG (Chandaka), OISF Constable Barsha Nath, OSAP 2nd Battalion Sepoy of Jharsuguda Bikram Magar, Constables of Puri District Sitakant Ojha and Ramakant Ojha, Constable of Cuttack District Sanjukta Dung Dung and Cuttack Urban District Constable Manjula Xess.

A record number of around 999 participants of 53 teams from different wings of Odisha Police had participated in the Championship that had commenced on January 15. Koraput SP Kanwar Vishal Singh has secured the first position, Kalahandi SP Battula Gangadhar has secured the second position and Berhampur SP Pinak Mishra has secured the third position in the 100 metres sprint event held during the championship.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

RP Sharma, DGP, Odisha