7 Odia Players In National Team For Asia Rugby Women's Championship

17 June 2019


Bhubaneswar: Rugby India on Sunday announced the 26-member squad for the Indian Women’s Rugby XVs team for the Asia Rugby Women's Championship at Southern Plains Sports Field, Manila, Philippines from 17th June 2019 – 23rd June 2019.

Among them seven players are from Odisha. They are Meerarani Hembram, Rajani Sabar, Laxmipriya Sahoo, Parbati Kisku, Hupi Majhi, Sumitra Nayak and Subhalaxmi Barik.

Odisha Sports Secretary Vishal Dev said to Asiarugby.com, "It is also a matter of great pride that seven players from Odisha have made the cut to the national representation. We hope the team will demonstrate outstanding performance in Manila and bring laurels for our country.”

Asia Rugby Women's Championship is one of the qualifier rounds for the 2021 Women's Rugby World Cup to be held in New Zealand. The squad will be led by captain Vahbiz Bharucha and face teams, Singapore, Philippines and China.