Three persons of Bomikhal, Bhubaneswar test positive for COVID-19

16th Odisha Assembly: Senior MLA Rajanikant Singh Elected New Deputy Speaker

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: Ruling BJD’s Angul MLA Rajanikant Singh is the new Deputy Speaker of the newly-elected 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly (OLA). He was elected unopposed as there was no contender.

Soon after the proceedings of the House of the ongoing Budget Session resumed today, Chief Minister-cum-Leader of the House Naveen Patnaik moved the proposal of Rajnikant’s nomination for the post which was seconded by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh.

Since there was no other contestant for the coveted post, Speaker Surya Narayan Patro formally declared Rajnikant Singh elected unopposed.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Rajanikant Singh, Deputy Speaker, Odisha Assembly