Vigilance conducts raids at Executive engineer house of Balasore
wanted criminal Bhagu caught in police encounter at Pipili over bridge
Odisha Bar Association meeting today in premises of Orissa High Court
Man, elder son electrocuted to death in Sonepur
CJI Gogoi Recommends Justice S A Bobde As His Successor
14 named in CBI's INX Media charge sheet

11 Interesting Facts About Odisha Assembly Polls

11 April 2019

Sangita Agarwal

Bhubaneswar:     As Odisha is all set to go for simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly polls (for 21 Lok Sabha and 147 Assembly seats) in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29, OMMCOM NEWS has compiled some interesting facts about Odisha’s assembly elections.


1) Odisha has a unicameral legislature with one house only. Vidhan Sabha or State Legislative Assembly is situated in the capital city of Bhubaneswar.

2) There are a total of 147 Assembly Constituencies represented by 147 Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs).

3) All the 147 candidates are elected. Out of them, 91 Assembly seats are reserved for General candidates, 22 seats are reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates and 34 Assembly seats are reserved for Scheduled Tribe contestants.(as per Advocatekhoj.com)

4) According to the final voter list issued on January 21, there are 3.18 crore voters in the state and polling will be held in 37,606 booths across the state.

5) This is the sixteenth Assembly polls held in the State, the first being held in 1952 after Independence.

6) Odisha has a multi-party system where the two main parties are the ruling party Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and opposition party Indian National Congress (INC). The importance of national party Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has increased in recent years. There are other parties functioning in the State like the CPI, CPI(M), Samajwadi Party, BSP, AAP, TMC, etc.

7) In the first Assembly elections in 1952, the Congress won 67 of the 140 seats and formed Government with the help of Independents. The Ganatantra Parishad won 31 seats and the Socialist Party 10.

8) The dominance of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Odisha for the last 21 years has been a talking-point this election. Formed in 1997, a few months after stalwart politician Biju Patnaik’s demise, the party has swept to facile poll victories, first in alliance with the BJP and then on its own, since 2000. This is the first time that a regional outfit has dominated the State for such a long time without any break. In fact, it could be a record for the country as no other regional party has governed any other State for nearly two decades at a stretch.

9) After Puducherry, Odisha has the maximum number of voters with physical disability.

10) The Central Reserved Police Forces (CRPF) will be deployed in the Maoist hit areas in Odisha and adjoining states for smooth conduct of polling.

11) The counting of votes will be done on May 23 in Odisha and across the country.


(This story was originally posted on April 10, 2019)