Know Restrictions, Services Excluded During COVID-19 Lockdown In Odisha

21 March 2020


Bhubaneswar: As Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Saturday announced a week-long lockdown in five districts and eight major towns of the State as an imperative measure to contain the spread of COVID-19, the restrictions and the establishments providing essential services excluded from the restrictions are listed below.


a. No public transport services including operation of taxis, auto-rickshaws will be permitted. The exception will include transport of all kinds to and from hospitals, airports, railway station, bus terminals/bus stands.

b. All shops, commercial establishments, offices and factories, workshops, godowns etc shall close their operations.

c. In these five districts and eight towns, all distribution of benefits such as pension and PDS are postponed for the time being.

d. All foreign returnees are directed to remain under strict home quarantine for a period as decided by local Health Authorities.

e. People are required to stay at home and come out only for basic services while strictly following social distancing guidelines issued earlier.

Besides, any congregation of more than seven persons shall be prohibited in public places.

Excluded establishments:

a. Offices charged with law and order and magisterial duties

i.) Collector

ii.) Sub Collector

iii.) Tahsil

iv.) Block

b. Police

c. Health

d. Urban Local Bodies

e. Fire

f. Rail, Air and Intercity Bus Transport (Local administration will regulate eateries in these premises)

g. Electricity, Water and Municipal Services

h. Bank/ATM

i. Print, Electronic and Social Media

j. Telecom & Internet Services including IT & ITeS

k. Postal services

l. Supply chain and related transportation

m. E-commerce (delivery) of all essential goods including food, pharmaceutical and medical equipment

n. Food, Groceries, Milk, Bread, Fruit, Vegetable, Meat, Fish and their transportation related activities and warehousing

o. Take away/home delivery restaurants

p. Hospitals, Chemist stores, Optical stores, Pharmaceuticals manufacturing and their transportation related activities.

q. Petrol pumps, LPG gas, Oil agencies, their godown and their transportation related activities.

r. Production and manufacturing units which require continous process may continue to function after obtaining required permission from the Collector.

s. Manufacturing units engaged in production of essential commodities.

Besides, private establishments that support the above services or are linked to the efforts for containment of COVID-19 will remain open.

If there is any doubt as to whether a service or establishment is essential or not, the Collector and District Magistrate/ Municipal Commissioner shall be the competent authority to decide.

Police Commissioner, Collector, ADM, CDM&PHO, DCP, Sub-Collector, Tahsildar, BDO, Municipal Commissioner and Executive Officer of Urban Local Bodies have been authorized to take all necessary actions for enforcement and implementation of the aforesaid measures. Local police shall render necessary assistance as and when requisitioned by the aforementioned officers.

Any person found violating the containment measures shall be deemed to have committed an offence punishable under section 188 of Indian Penal Code (45 of 1860). The restrictions imposed earlier shall continue to be in force in rest of the State. In case of any doubt, the State Government will issue necessary directions/clarifications.

As more than 3000 people have returned to Odisha from foreign countries, the Odisha Government has notified a lockdown in the areas they reside which includes territorial jurisdiction of revenue districts of Khurda, Cuttack, Ganjam, Kendrapada, Angul and the municipal jurisdiction of Puri, Rourkela, Sambalpur, Jharsuguda, Balasore, Jajpur, Jajpur Road and Bhadrak from 7 am of March 22 to 9 pm of March 29.