Brother-sister duo killed in road accident in Bolangir
Puri: IIC transferred for clicking selfie with a murder accused
Margaret Atwood, Bernardine Evaristo Win Booker Prize
Rourkela: Five miscreants loot Rs 13 lakh at gunpoint from a vehicle
White Tiger 'Subhranshu' dies at Nandankanan Zoo
Two minor girls allegedly abducted by miscreants in kendrapada
400 packets of cigarette seized at Bhubaneswar airport

NaMo Wave Sweeps Country, But No Impact In Odisha & Andhra Pradesh

23 May 2019

Baibhav Mishra

Bhubaneswar: It is official now - Narendra Modi-led BJP has scripted a convincing victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections with the saffron party winning a massive 303 seats in the lower house of the Parliament. BJP-led NDA has surpassed its 2014 tally with the alliance winning 353 seats in Lok Sabha this time.

So massive was the Modi wave that Congress president Rahul Gandhi lost in his family’s bastion Amethi to BJP’s Smriti Irani. While Rahul managed to save face with a victory from Wayanad, Congress has been decimated to a meagre 52 seats in the Lok Sabha. In Kerala, the Congress won 15 Lok Sabha seats.

The Congress-led UPA’s tally reached 92 while Other parties have won 97 seats. Prominent parties in the Others category include: DMK – 23, Trinamool Cogress – 22, YSR Congress – 22 and BJD – 12.

The much-hyped ‘Mahagathbandhan’ in Uttar Pradesh between Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party was a big upset as the pre-poll setup managed to win a total 15 seats out of 80 seats in UP.

BJP’s performance was stellar in Karnataka as the party won 25 out of 28 seats in the State.

However, the massive saffron wave could not penetrate Odisha, which has been Naveen Patnaik-led BJD’s fort for the past two decades. The regional party won convincingly with 113 out of 147 seats in the assembly. The results of Andhra Pradesh were even more astounding as Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSRCP scripted a colossal victory winning 150 seats in the 175-member assembly.