Three persons of Bomikhal, Bhubaneswar test positive for COVID-19

Delhi Assembly Elections Updates

08 February 2020


Bhubaneswar: Capital of the nation, Delhi goes for Assembly Election today. Around 1.5 crore eligible voters of Delhi will elect representatives for the 70-member Delhi assembly from 672 candidates.

6.10 pm: 54.67 per cent voter turnout recorded till 6pm.

5.22 pm: Shaheen Bagh women protesters vote in batches to keep agitation alive

5.10 pm: 44.76 per cent voter turnout recorded till 5pm.

4.05 pm: 42.29 per cent voter turnout recorded till 4 pm

4.00 pm: Delhi police officials hold road march in sensitive polling areas

3.42 pm: CPM leader Prakash Karat after casting his vote at Sanchar Bhawan

3.38 pm: 40.59 per cent voter turnout recorded till 3.30 pm

3.05 pm: 30.11% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm

2.58 pm: Former President Pranab Mukherjee casts his vote

2.45 pm: Area-wise, east Delhi reported 31.31 per cent polling, northwest Delhi 28.78 per cent, west 26.77 per cent, south 26.71 per cent, southwest 23.25 per cent and central Delhi 25.36 per cent turnout, said EC's Voter Turnout App

2.40 pm: 28.78% voter turnout recorded till 2.30 pm

1.40 pm: 27.04 per cent voter turnout recorded till 1.30 pm

1.08 pm: 17.26% per cent voter turnout till 1 pm

12.36 pm: 15.69% voter turnout till noon

12.31 pm: AAP and Congress have arranged e-rickshaws to pick and drop senior citizens in many areas in northEast Delhi.

12.12 pm: Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora with casts his vote

12.15 pm: State BJP President Manoj Tiwari casts his vote

12.07 pm: Ban on carrying phones into polling booth proving to be a big difficulty for many voters. Many going back without voting

11.50 am: Senior BJP leader LK Advani casts his vote 

11.40 am: Congress candidate Alka Lamba gets into a tussle with her former  party AAP's worker after casting vote

11.35 am: Bollywood star and local girl Taapsee Pannu casts vote with family

11.22 am: Centenarian Kalitara Mandal (111) became the oldest woman voter in Delhi to cast vote. She urged people to exercise their democratic right

11.08 am: Former PM Manmohan Singh casts his vote

11.20 am: 7.28% voter turnout in Delhi assembly polls till 11.00 am

11.02 am: Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, daughter Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and son Rahul Gandhi cast their votes at their respective constituencies

10.43 am: President Ram Nath Kovind with wife Savita Kovind casts vote

10.15 am: 4.33% voter turnout in Delhi assembly polls till 10.00 am

10.05 am: An estimated 1.14 per cent of the 1.47 crore eligible voters have exercised their franchise till 9 a.m

9.50 am: AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal and family cast vote

9.32 am: Lt Governor Anil Baijal arrives with family to exercise voting rights

9.20 am: Union Health Minister Harsh Vardhan along with his mother arrives to cast their vote

8.57 am: BJP MP Parvesh Verma casts his vote at a polling station in Matiala assembly constituency

8.34. am: Voting peaceful at Shaheen Bag, Delhi's epicentre of anti-CAA protests

8.27 am: External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar casts his vote

8.18 am: Delhi’s incumbent CM Arvind Kejriwal makes a special appeal to women voters on polling day in the capital.

8.15 am: PM Narendra Modi urges people to come out and exercise their voting rights.

8.00 am: Polling for 70 Assembly constituencies begins in Delhi